Frosty hues and Monday blues

So, here’s the thing.

There exists, I believe, a rather large, vaccuous space between the theoretical day-dreaming whimsy of “writing one day” and the very real rhetoric and challenges surrounding how to actually go about starting to do it. The current questions in my mind which need an answer, so will be answered, either by me or you good people who may see these ramblings one day, include:

  • Where do I “fit”?
  • Where does/will my output “belong”?
  • What IS a “Children’s Book” anyway?

I know that the answer to the last one in that mini-list has prompted many a tome and plentiful analysis over the years, but they are all questions that I am starting to consider.

Here is why.  I have been reading through some ideas and poems that I started.  The ones I stored in various clothing drawers but which have now taken up temporary residence in my Really Useful Box (you’ll find it in a previous entry here). I am realising that although the idea is to develop the rhyming book which I can ‘see’ in my mind’s eye and shouts above all others, a lot of the other couplets and wordy bouncings are more apt for an older reader.

Should I focus on one thing and one thing only (the book idea) and know that I can develop the other poems for a later date, or do I try to do a little bit of everything?  I know if I was being asked that question and giving (albeit amateur) advice, I would say to focus on one thing and do it to your absolute best ability, then see what can be done with it when it is polished, tight and waiting..

This is more than likely the approach I will take, but if anyone else has had this scenario, of thinking they had a hurdle to navigate before beginning to write, then actually seeing this, I would really like to hear from you!

hurdles

I want to develop my answer to “What is a Children’s Book” more fully, as it has really got my synapses sparking. My wife came home from town the other day, beaming, having bought 2 rhyming Children’s Books.  “Oi Frog!” and “Oi Dog!” by Kes and Claire Gray & Jim Field.   We both read them out loud, to each other, and both couldn’t wait to read them to their age-appropriate audience. And you see, right here is the prompt for the question above, because our child is 20 years old now. Sara had bought them because they were funny, silly, engaging and brilliantly explained/illustrated.  We will find a suitable family member to give them to of course, but they were purchased because we liked them so I think my target audience needs to be fully acknowledged when writing.

I need to just knuckle down and work on my book idea and am now already looking forward to doing just that tomorrow.

This has been a random one I know, so bear with me. It’s all new!

Thanks for stopping by.

:0)

 

2 thoughts on “Frosty hues and Monday blues

  1. Fab post! These questions are always in the mind of writey folk and are much discussed, in one form or another, on my twitter timeline. I think writing is such a personal thing, that people approach in so many different ways, there will never be a right way to do it, only what feels right at the time – and that may well change over time! It’s hard to say where your focus should be right now – perhaps whatever project is calling to you the loudest at the time.
    As far as the hurdles go, my hurdle when I started writing was trying to pin myself to an age group before I got going. I think it’s tempting to try and put some safety barriers up before you start. But for me, when I canned those worries and barriers and just wrote what I wanted, the words came and the process became easier and much more enjoyable. Write what you want to write, for you, rather than trying to write something to fit in to an age group or a genre or a gap in the market. We live in a golden age of children’s books and there is a wealth of new material being published every day that breaks rules and questions conventions. We are so lucky to be starting our booky journeys surrounded by so much inspiration and quality work. My advice is to immerse yourself in the children’s books that are out there, especially what is being published now, and write what you want to write. Don’t worry about where you fit or where your words belong. There are rhyming books and books filled with wonderful word bouncing in all genres and for readers of all ages. On Thursday when we go on our booky research trip I will introduce you to the wonderfully word bouncy works of Elli Woollard, Sarah Crossan and Katherine Rundell.
    Because my answer to the question ‘What is a Children’s book anyway’ is, whatever you want it to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: A writer begins – book recs and kidlit advice please! | Rhino Reads

Leave a Reply

